COVID-19 Instructional Plan Committee

  • Fargo Public Schools has established an FPS COVID-19 Instructional Plan Committee.  The purpose of the committee is to meet every two weeks, review data regarding COVID-19 cases in our community and make determinations for which Instructional Plan Level will be used to deliver instruction in Fargo schools. Smart Restart Levels

    Specific criteria used by the committee to determine which Instructional Plan Level is adopted includes:

    • Guidance from the state of North Dakota
    • Guidance from Cass County
    • Cass County Death Rate
    • Cass County hospitalization rate
    • Cass County transmission rate
    • Ability to implement social distancing
    • Staff leave data
    • Substitute fill rate

    On August 10, this committee will determine which instructional model will be used to open the 2020 – 2021 school year (Level 1-5).  

    Committtee membership is as follows:


    • Rupak Gandhi, Superintendent
    • Robert Grosz, Associate Superintendent
    • Missy Eidsness, Associate Superintendent
    • Jenifer Mastrud, FEA President/Middle School Teacher
    • Tracie Newman, School Board Member
    • Blake Mikesell, Director of Maintenance and Operations
    • Doug Andring, Director of Human Resources
    • Mackenzie McCormick, Coordinator of Safety & Emergency Management
    • Brenton Nesemeier, Fargo Cass Public Health Epidemiologist
    • Andy Dahlen, High School Principal
    • Shane Martin, Middle School Principal
    • Rebecca Folden, Elementary Principal
    • Payton Thimjon, Elementary Teacher
    • Keith Lehman, High School Teacher
    • Becky Atkins, Support Staff Member
    • Melissa Burkland, Elementary School Parent
    • Joel Fremstad, Middle School Parent
    • Nathaniel Karlins, High School Parent



    • Robin Nelson, Board of Education Alternate
    • Anna Burger, Elementary Teacher Alternate
    • Phil Campbell, High School Teacher Alternate
    • Stacey Lovelace, Support Staff Alternate
    • Zachary Parkman, Elementary Parent Alternate
    • Scott Stengrim, High School Parent Alternate
    • Nick Hamilton, Middle School Parent Alternate